top of page
  • Writer's pictureDahlia Foundation

Mizoram Election Result 2023 LIVE: EC declares result for all the seats, ZPM makes a clean sweep.

Mizoram Election Result 2023 Live News Updates: Zoram People's Movement (ZPM) registered a big win in the North Eastern state with a win in 27 seats. ZPM, the opposition party, secured a sweeping victory, winning 27 out of 40 seats. Meanwhile, the ruling Mizo National Front (MNF), under Chief Minister Zoramthanga's leadership, secured 10 seats and was leading in one.

The BJP, contesting in 23 seats, managed to secure victories in only two constituencies, while the Congress secured only one seat. The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), participating in four seats for the first time, did not secure any victories.

ZPM's triumphs have been against prominent leaders of the MNF, including two sitting ministers, with Lalnghinglova Hmar defeating state cabinet minister Lalruatkima and W. Chhuanawma overcoming incumbent Deputy Chief Minister Tawnluia in Tuichang.

The ZPM's Lalnghinglova Hmar brought in the party's second win for the day from the Aizawl West-II constituency. He registered 10398 votes and won with a margin of 4819.

ZPM Chief Ministerial candidate Lalduhoma said he would now meet the Governor on Tuesday to stake claim to form the government in the state.

The counting of votes in elections to the 40-member Mizoram assembly began Monday morning at 8 a.m.

Mizoram's political landscape has been dominated by the Congress and the Mizo National Front (MNF) since it attained full statehood in 1987.

0 views0 comments


bottom of page